Search This Website

Sunday, August 16, 2020

Learn about consumer protection act

What is the Definition of the consumer?

Key features of the Consumer Protection Act, 2019

1.Central Consumers Protection Authority (CCPA):

The CCPA will regulate cases related to unfair  practices, misleading advertisements, and violation of consumer rights.

The Central Consumers Protection Authority will have an investigation wing to enquire and investigate such violations. The CCPA will be headed by the Director-General.

2. Rights of consumers:

The act provides 6 rights to the consumers;

i. To have information about the quantity, quality, purity, potency, price, and standard of goods or services.

ii. To be protected from hazardous goods and services.

iii. To be protected from unfair or restrictive trade practices.

iv. To have a variety of goods or services at competitive prices

3. Prohibition and penalty for a misleading advertisement:

Worth to mention that repeated offense, may attract a fine of Rs 50 lakh and imprisonment of up to 5 years.

4. Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission:
(CDRCs) at the national, state and district levels.

The CDRCs will entertain complaints related to;

i. Overcharging or deceptive charging

ii. Unfair or restrictive trade practices

iii. Sale of hazardous and services which may be hazardous to life.

iv. Sale of defective goods or services


કાયદા અને નિયમો

How to file a complaint?

all application form

Jurisdiction under the Consumer Protection Act, 2019
act has defined the criteria of Consumers Disputes Redressal Commission (CDRCs). The National CDRC will hear complaints worth more than Rs. 10 crores. The State CDRC will hear complaints when the value is more than Rs 1 crore but less than Rs 10 crore.

So these were key features of the new Consumers Protection Act, 2019. This topic is very important for various exams like UPSC, State PSC, and Banking, etc. To read more such articles click on the link given below;

No comments:

Post a Comment